I wonder what would happen if I planted these seeds

One reason I wasn’t the world’s most successful researcher was my habit of occasionally (perhaps more than occasionally) starting experiments without a clear idea of what I was looking for.  Ideally, when you start an experiment you want to have planned it out so carefully that you will get an answer to your question no matter what the outcome is.  Maybe 10% of the time though, my only question was “I wonder would happen if I…” and then I would just do it.

So, in that spirit – I wonder what would happen if I planted these pea seedlings that had been soaked in water, black walnut extract or sweetgum extract.

I picked 5 from each condition:

Image

And planted them in containers (the dog has a tendency to destroy anything outside that he senses has meaning to you, otherwise I would have plant them all in the planet container)

Image

And away we go.  I will admit that I am actually looking for something very specific, but its a pretty far fetched idea that I won’t admit to publicly.  Unless it works.

About SubOptimist

I am an Associate Professor in the Science Department at Georgia Perimeter College, Clarkston. I teach introductory biology courses at both the majors and non-majors level in addition to microbiology. Previous to that I spent 7 years as a postdoctoral researcher on different viruses. While I don't miss being on the "grant treadmill", I think better when I write and miss writing up data for papers and grants; this blog helps me with that a little. And sometimes my kids' insanely funny and cute antics need to be shared with the world. Any view expressed in this blog is that of me personally and not Georgia Perimeter College or the GPC Clarkston Science Department.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I wonder what would happen if I planted these seeds

  1. robert says:

    the one in the walnut will respond the best overtime. the one in water alone will thrive for a week then die out the sweet gum will work slightly better then the water.

Leave a Reply

