I am changing my major to Math

Today Todd and I had to go out hunting pillbugs for next week’s sci method labs. He taught me how to tell a sedge (Family Cyperacea) from a grass (Family Poacea) [sedges have very triangular stems and very distinct fruits with little thorns], but we were striking out with regard to pillbugs. While off trail in our little forest, it started to pour, so we got wet, but it was fun.

Mellow Yellow

Here is a picture of an incredibly yellow mushroom we found:

We get back and I sit down at my desk to work on my syllabi for Monday, but man, do my feet itch. Finally I take off my shoes and socks (soaked) & find my feet are covered in teeny tiny seeds. Todd gets one on the scope:

20120817-202506.jpg

Leeetle Pinch?

The only thing worse than having your feet covered in tiny 6 legged “seeds”? Greeting a very conservative, buttoned-down colleague who happens upon you on your way back from the bathroom where you washed your feet off in the sink (wet pants rolled up, barefoot, walking funny trying not to slip on the overly polished floors). Perhaps worse than that? Being convinced that you can feel the ones that made it through the washing crawl up your legs to your, uh, breadbasket as you tell your self no no, just focus on getting this syllabus done.
Thank goodness it was empty at work today.

About SubOptimist

I am an Associate Professor in the Science Department at Georgia Perimeter College, Clarkston. I teach introductory biology courses at both the majors and non-majors level in addition to microbiology. Previous to that I spent 7 years as a postdoctoral researcher on different viruses. While I don't miss being on the "grant treadmill", I think better when I write and miss writing up data for papers and grants; this blog helps me with that a little. And sometimes my kids' insanely funny and cute antics need to be shared with the world. Any view expressed in this blog is that of me personally and not Georgia Perimeter College or the GPC Clarkston Science Department.
This entry was posted in Southeastern Natural History and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

