In orbit around the Sun

double wide

There is a magical period of time during sunrise when you are still in the moments before it, but up above it has already happened.  Proof that the Earth is deliciously curved. This is when it’s rotation feels more obvious to me.  Wait, and the mechanics of enormous spinning bodies brings you your sunrise.  The contrast in lighting during this period, from a purplish black to blue to dark green to brilliant green; leaves at night aren’t realizing their potential, but as green flecks in a blue sky that potential is fully realized.

Watering the yard from the rain barrels, coffee in hand.  2 things always impress me while doing this.  First how much water can be collected from our roof and second, how the pumps at the bottom of the barrels keep working despite the slightly chunky nature of the water (dirt, bits of stick, leaf, etc) – those must be pretty tough impellers.

wetflowers

I was in the mood to take pictures of wet flowers.

I poured (wasted, really) so much water down this hole near the snapdragons and it all vanished.  Deep.  Finally, images of families of snakes or stinging ground bees pouring out of a backdoor hole behind me made me stop.  That and it was a waste of water.

hole

About SubOptimist

I am an Associate Professor in the Science Department at Georgia Perimeter College, Clarkston. I teach introductory biology courses at both the majors and non-majors level in addition to microbiology. Previous to that I spent 7 years as a postdoctoral researcher on different viruses. While I don't miss being on the "grant treadmill", I think better when I write and miss writing up data for papers and grants; this blog helps me with that a little. And sometimes my kids' insanely funny and cute antics need to be shared with the world. Any view expressed in this blog is that of me personally and not Georgia Perimeter College or the GPC Clarkston Science Department.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

