Figures of Science

I am going through the literature on growth conditions for Chlorella with an eye for small holes in the literature that my students and I could fill.   Some of the figures in these papers are worth gazing at, either because they are so bad they are good or because they are so beautiful.

Like this one; who can resist the allusion to an explosion in the lab?

2222

 

from:  Meyers & Burr 1940 J Gen Physiol. 1940 Sep 20;24(1):45-67.

 

Or this one, from a paper entitled ” An Improved Technique for the Growth of Chlorella in CO(2)”… simplicity appeared to be nowhere on their their improvement radar:

3333

 

from:  Plant Physiology November 1959 vol. 34 no. 6 638-640

And finally, this figure of some sort of spectrophotometer, strikes me as beautiful and almost steampunk:

1111

 

from: Plant Physiol. 1963 Jan;38(1):105-16. Enhancement in Chlorella. Myers & Graham

About SubOptimist

I am an Associate Professor in the Science Department at Georgia Perimeter College, Clarkston. I teach introductory biology courses at both the majors and non-majors level in addition to microbiology. Previous to that I spent 7 years as a postdoctoral researcher on different viruses. While I don't miss being on the "grant treadmill", I think better when I write and miss writing up data for papers and grants; this blog helps me with that a little. And sometimes my kids' insanely funny and cute antics need to be shared with the world. Any view expressed in this blog is that of me personally and not Georgia Perimeter College or the GPC Clarkston Science Department.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

