More not-in-the-Constitution garbage from NIH

Picture2

Who needs to know where their genes are?

In under 2 minutes, I found where the OCA2 gene is on my chromosomes at NIH’s Gene database.  Exact. Position.  This is the gene that, because I have two mutated copies, makes my eyes blue.  Chromosome 15, nucleotide blah blah blah.  Included in this trash heap of information are the exact sequence of the gene, data on which cells in the body express that gene.  Links to diseases that are supposedly linked to this gene.  They are probably trying to scare people with “facts” that, I would like to point out, are not in the constitution.

This over-the-top NIH database is funded with our tax dollars through the Department of Health & Human Services.  It even contains a link that will tell me where this gene is in the chromosomes of a mouse, a chicken, something called a Danio rerio and a god damn Bactrian Camel, whatever that is.

Contact your Senators and Representatives and show your concern about what Trump’s moronic budget cuts might do to scientific research in the United States.

 

About SubOptimist

I am an Associate Professor in the Science Department at Georgia Perimeter College, Clarkston. I teach introductory biology courses at both the majors and non-majors level in addition to microbiology. Previous to that I spent 7 years as a postdoctoral researcher on different viruses. While I don't miss being on the "grant treadmill", I think better when I write and miss writing up data for papers and grants; this blog helps me with that a little. And sometimes my kids' insanely funny and cute antics need to be shared with the world. Any view expressed in this blog is that of me personally and not Georgia Perimeter College or the GPC Clarkston Science Department.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment